Restaurant serving non-vegan food to vegans?

This is not good news.

A group of friends in the USA were suspicious of their local vegan restaurant. The plant-eaters had a feeling they were being served products containing egg and milk, even though the restaurant explicitly advertised their entire menu as vegan.

You need to get over to this website to read the full exposé, but the highlight has to be the covert after hours dumpster dive to discover multiple food packets with non-vegan ingredient lists.

bamboo garden
Click photo for full story

I’m not sure how the owners and/or kitchen staff of Bamboo Kitchen thought they could get away with doing this or why they seemingly don’t give a damn about the ethical and health choices/requirements of their customers.

Word of warning to restaurants selling food to vegans. Make sure it’s vegan or we will find out and we will be mad.

patreon bottom advert

I eat eggs

Of all the religious celebrations that I opt out of, Easter seems one of the strangest. Can someone enlighten a FGV with atheistic tendencies? Why do people imagine a giant bunny is hopping around leaving chocolate eggs in nests?

As a naive child in Australia, I would fashion beach towels into makeshift nests and settle in for a night of anticipation. Would the Easter Bunny visit my ramshackle egg depository?

I am thankful those days (and sleepless nights) are long gone as I put my trust in more logical ways of thinking. However, the amusing twist in this bunny tale is the fact that I still adore devouring chocolate eggs whenever a vegan version makes its way into my FGV nest.

Cue the wonder and talent of Moo Free Chocolates!

Moo Free vegan Easter egg

Read more

You’d better run egg

As an atheist I don’t partake in rituals, rites or celebrations based on religious beliefs. But I’m certainly not going to let a little non-belief get in my way of a vegan Easter egg.

Gromit the cat saunters by my vegan egg

Whilst trolling around Sainsbury’s supermarket on Cromwell Road in London for a snack, I stumbled upon a delectable-looking treat in the section reserved for food allergies and specialist diets. The freefrom Easter egg stood tall on the top shelf and beckoned me with its yellow wrapping, shiny bow and cheeky swing tag advertising its vegan status. I was so taken by the snappy appearance of this seasonal snack that I was on the verge of offering to buy it a drink. Gift-wrapped, vegan chocolate doesn’t fall into my FGV lap everyday, so I barely hesitated as I swooped it up and deposited it into my shopping basket.

Read more