Never was vegan
You know when you think something is vegan because the company has told you it is vegan, so you have been drinking it for years and then you find out it probably never was vegan to begin with because it contains gelatine?
Vegans are angry. It has transpired via social media that Rekorderlig cider uses gelatine during the production process but told people it was vegan. These claims of the drink being vegan-friendly were made to consumers via Twitter and email over a period of time stretching back a few years.
It was only recently that the person in charge of the company’s social media presence has been answering the vegan question by telling people it isn’t animal product free as gelatine is used to produce it.
Understandably, vegans are furious.
This drink has long been a firm favourite of compassionate drinkers and to be told it has never been vegan is upsetting for people who go out of their way to avoid contributing to the exploitation of animals.
Following are some tweets showing confirmation from the company that the drink is not vegan and the standard response they are now giving to concerned consumers.
The company isn’t very clear when explaining how this error occurred, but I would imagine it has something to do with Rekorderlig staff not understanding how the product is made and then giving incorrect advice to consumers without checking.
Did you ever buy this brand? What is your reaction to the news?