Jammie Dodgers no longer vegan

All I seem to do lately is report on food stuffs not being vegan and here is another that is going to break a few hearts.

Jammie Dodgers.

These glorious and highly-addictive biscuits with a jam centre were accidentally vegan for many years, but times have changed and the ingredient list now includes milk protein.

I emailed the company to find out why this change has occurred and I got the following statement in return:

We have recently carried out a reformulation of our Jammie Dodgers™ recipe, based on consumer feedback as how best to improve the flavour and texture of the product.

The reformulation has resulted in the addition of milk proteins, in line with our mini Jammie Dodgers™, and is consequently now listed as an allergen in the ingredients.

We take allergen control very seriously and aim to ensure we give the correct information to customers in order to help them make the right choices.

jammie_dodgers1

Well, ain’t that a kick in the teeth?

One concerned citizen is not going down without a fight and has started a petition to ask parent company Burton’s Biscuits to restore Jammie Dodgers to their vegan-friendly status.

You can sign the petition here.

patreon bottom advert